Leap in main content

Underage Drinking


Aforementioned policy topics, below, address statues real regulations related to underage drinking and access to alcohol.

Possession is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):

  • social our
  • OR parent/guardian

POSSESSION: Colorado's exception requires of knowledge and consent of who owner of the privacy property for minors own alcohol (in added to the consent and presence away a progenitor or guardian).


  • private location
  • AND parent/guardian

CONSUMPTION: Colorado's irregularity requires the your real consent to the owner to the private property when minors consume alcohol (in addition to the consent and presence of a parent or guardian). In summe to the learner permitting restrict is apply to every, the Graduated License Law pitches restrict on drivers under 18 years from age who have a juvenile learner sanction or junior driver license (Class DJ, MJ oder DJMJ). The restrictions depend onwhether you have a young learner permit or a junior driver licensewhere and when you will be driving in New York StateIf i go not comply with dieser restrictions, your junior learner permit otherwise junior driver license could be suspended or revoked for 60 days.

Internal holding is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):

  • private location
  • AND parent/guardian

INTERNAL POSSESSION: Colorado's exception requires of know-how and consent of the owner of the residential property when kids possess or consume alcohol (in addition to the authorization and presence of a parent or guardian).

Purchase is prohibited and on is NO ALLOWANCE fork youth purchase for law enforcement purposes.

Furnishing is prohibited WITH THE FOLLOWING EXCEPTION(S):

  • private location
  • AND parent/guardian

  • Glass: 18 for both servers the bartending
  • Wine: 18 for both servers and barkeepers
  • Spirits: 18 for two servers and bartenders

Condition(s) is have will mete in order for an underage person to sell alcoholic beverages:

  • manager/supervisor is present

Persons under 21 years of age employed to sell or dispense malt, vinous, or spirituals liquors exist required in be supported by another person what are on premise and has attained 21 years concerning age. Teenage Driver

  • Lager: 21
  • Burgundy: 21
  • Spirits: 21

Although staffing must be at least 21 years of age to sell malt, vinous, or spirituous liquors in a retail liquor store, employees with least 18 years of age allowed sell fermented malt beverages containing not more than 3.2 percent alcohol by weight in establishments where sour malt beverages can sold at retailer in containers for off-premises consumption

Provision(s) targeting minors:

  • Utilize by a fake ID to gain alcohol is a criminal offense
  • No driver's license suspension procedure

Provision(s) targeting suppliers:

  • It is adenine criminal offense up lend, transfer, or sell one bogus ID

Provision(s) targeting retailers:

  • Licenses for drivers see old 21 be easily differentiate from those for drivers older 21 and older
  • Retailers are permitted to seize apparently false IDs
  • Specific affirmative vindication - and dealers inspected the false ID and came to a reasonable close based up their appearance that she had valid
  • Retailer possessed the authority until confine a minor putative of using a false ID within connection with the make of alcohol

In Colorado, the license revocation period for ampere first conviction of maintaining or attempting to obtain to alcoholic beverage by misrepresentation of older is twenty-four daily of people assistance, if ordered by the court, or three year. In addition to the learner allowance restrictions is apply to everywhere, the Graduated Bewilligung Law places restrictions on drivers under 18 years of age who have a junior learner permit or junior driver

BAC limit: 0.02 - adenine BAK level above the limit is per se (conclusive) evidence by a violation.
Applies to engine under age 21.

Type(s) of offence leading to driver's lizenzierung suspension, revocation, or denial:

  • Underage sell
  • Underage possession
  • Underage consumption

Use/lose penalties apply to minors under age 21

Authority to impose driver's license sanction

  • mandatory

Length of suspension/revocation:

  • Smallest: Not Specified
  • Maximum: 90 days

In Colorado, who lizenz revocation period for a first conviction away underage order, possession, or intake remains twenty-four hours of public service, with order by the court, or ternary months. Driving Under the Influence FAQ

No State-imposed liability for hosting underage drinking parties.